Command & Executive Staff

Chief of Police William McManus

Chief of Police William P. McManus Chief William P. McManus became the Chief of Police of the San Antonio Police Department (SAPD) on April 17, 2006. Prior to joining SAPD, he served as Chief of Police of the Minneapolis Police Department (February 2004 – April 2006), and Chief of Police of the Dayton, Ohio, Police Department (November 2001 – February 2004).

McManus started his law enforcement career in 1975, when he joined the Washington D.C. Metropolitan Police Department. He served in a variety of street and investigative assignments, and rose through the ranks of Sergeant, Lieutenant, and Captain. In 1998, McManus was promoted to Commander of the First District, which includes Capitol Hill and areas west of the White House. Later that year, he was promoted to the position of Assistant Chief of the Metropolitan Police Department, and held that position until 2001.

Chief McManus graduated from the FBI National Executive Institute and National Academy, and the Senior Management Institute for Police at Harvard University's Kennedy School of Government. He holds a Bachelor's Degree from Villanova University in Pennsylvania and a Master's Degree in Management from Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore, MD.

McManus and his wife, Lourdes, have three children.

Follow Chief McManus on Social Media


SAPD Leadership Chart(PDF, 519KB)

Command Staff

Assistant Chiefs

Assistant Chief Robert Blanton
Robert Blanton
Operations Bureau

Assistant Chief Karen Falks
Karen Falks
Operations Support Bureau

Deputy Chiefs

Deputy Chief Chris Benevides
Chris Benavides
Patrol South Division

Johnny Gomez (SAPD)
Johnny Gomez
Patrol North Division

Deputy Chief Jesse Salame
Jesus Salame Jr
Chief of Staff

Deputy Chief Hector Salas
Hector Salas
Investigations Division

Jaime Trevino (SAPD)
Jaime Trevino
Traffic and Emergency Services Division

Deputy Chief Timothy Vaughn
Timothy Vaughan
Fusion and Covert Division

Assistant Police Director

Richard Riley
Richard Riley
Administrative Service Bureau

Administrative Services Officers

Leslie Hickey
Leslie Hickey
Administrative Services

Janette Torres-Gloria
Janette Torres-Gloria
Administrative Support

Police Communications Administrator

Joseph Elliot
Joseph Elliott