The Mayor and Council Office is comprised of 

  • the Mayor, who is elected at large
  • ten City Councilmembers, who are elected from single-member districts, and 
  • administrative support staff

The City Council acts as the policy-making and legislative body within the City's government. Operating within the guidelines of the City Charter, the City Council appoints 

The support staff serves as constituent liaison to all Councilmembers, in addition to 

  • responding to incoming calls
  • scheduling meeting and appointments, and 
  • disseminating pertinent information to the citizens of San Antonio