Driver Safety Course (Defensive Driving)

Defendants charged with traffic offenses, with some exceptions, may request to take a driving safety course or motorcycle operator training course to have the charge dismissed. You may request to have your citation dismissed by doing all of the following:

  • Plead “no contest” or “guilty.”
  • Pay court costs.
  • Complete a driving safety course approved by the Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation (TDLR).

NOTE: The driving safety course option is not available for all violations.

Eligibility Requirements

  • You have a valid Texas Driver’s License.
  • You have current liability insurance.
  • You have not taken a Drivers Safety Course within the last 12 months to dispose of a citation.
  • You do not have a Commercial Driver's License.
  • You are not charged with speeding 25 mph or more over the speed limit.
  • You were not driving 95 miles per hour or more.
  • You were not charged with passing a school bus loading or unloading children.
  • You were not charged with an offense that occurred within a construction zone or work zone when workers were present.
  • You were not charged with leaving the scene of a collision after causing damage to a vehicle that is driven or attended.

Request Defensive Driving

You need the following to request the driving safety course option:

  • A valid Texas driver’s license, permit, proof of active military duty status, or are the spouse or dependent child of a person on active military duty
  • Show proof of financial responsibility (car insurance).
    • Name listed on the policy as a driver.
    • The insurance policy must be valid at the time of the request.
    • No commercial policies (Unless your name is on the policy).
  • Pay the State and Administrative Fees. (This amount is subject to change according to State law.)

Request Defensive Driving