Brackenridge Park Reconciled Project Inventory


Brackenridge Park

In May 2023, City Council approved funding from the Midtown TIRZ to support a new planning effort for Brackenridge Park. Specifically the effort will consider the following:

The result will be a Reconciled Project Inventory for Brackenridge Park. This new plan will consolidate the goals and objectives outlined in the plans above. It will also provide an inventory of projects recommended for prioritization. Stakeholders will agree on evaluation criteria to inform the project inventory.

Stakeholder Advisory Committee

In June 2023, City Manager Erik Walsh reconstituted the Brackenridge Park Stakeholder Advisory Committee. The role of the Advisory committee is to facilitate public engagement and information sharing as the City begins to consider future development opportunities within Brackenridge Park.

The next priority for the Advisory Committee is to review and provide feedback on Phase 2 of the 2017 Bond Project. This includes:

  • Rehabilitation of the historic acequia and 1776 Upper Labor Diversion Dam
  • Stabilization of the 1870s pumphouse and waterworks channel
  • Interpretation of the site and its archaeological features

The Advisory Committee will also inform the reconciliation of the various plans for Brackenridge Park.

Committee Members


  • Lori Houston, City of San Antonio
  • Terry Brechtel, Brackenridge Park Conservancy

Neighborhood Associations

  • Joe Bravo, Westfort
  • Jerome Martin, River Road
  • Parker Dixon, Tobin Hill
  • Taylor Watson, Mahncke Park
  • Toni Van Buren, Monte Vista

Stakeholder Organizations

  • Alex Gonzales, Visit San Antonio
  • Allison Cohen, Parks and Recreation Board
  • Andrew Peterson, Alamo City Golf Trail
  • Carrie Kimbell, First Tee
  • Frates Seeligson, San Antonio River Foundation
  • Irby Hightower, History and Culture
  • John Menelly, Doseum
  • Kathy Amen, Tuesday Musical Club
  • Mary Jane Verette, San Antonio Parks Foundation
  • Patsy Inglet, Parks and Wildlife Advocate
  • Ramon Vasquez, History and Culture
  • Randall Preissig, Parks and Wildlife Advocate
  • Sabina Carr, San Antonio Botanical Garden
  • Dr. Thomas Evans, University of the Incarnate Word
  • Dr. Vanessa Beasley, Trinity University
  • Vince Michael, Conservation Society of San Antonio

A Technical Committee has also been established that will support the bond projects and planning effort. The Technical Committee includes representation from:

  • Various City Departments
  • Bexar County
  • Brackenridge Park Conservancy
  • San Antonio River Authority
  • San Antonio Zoo
  • Witte Museum

Past Meetings