MLK Commission

MLK Commission standing in front of a building

The San Antonio Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Commission (MLK Commission) is a volunteer organization that was established in 1986. The MLK Commission organizes the annual MLK March and leads community efforts of various events paying tribute to Dr. King.


Their mission is to build community among all citizens of San Antonio and across the US by promoting:

  • human equality
  • principles of nonviolence
  • understanding and acceptance of racial harmony
  • respect and goodwill

They advance their mission through a variety of events and programs by encouraging awareness, acceptance, and appreciation of the teachings and philosophy of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. and the legacy of the Civil Rights Movement.


View Meetings

MLK Executive Board Members

  • Dwayne Robinson, Commission Chair
  • Dr. Doshie Piper, Commission Vice Chair
  • Le Reta Gatlin-McDavid, District 2 Liaison
  • LaTonia Brock, Secretary
  • Anastasia Nunn, Budget and Finance Chair
  • Reverend Debra Seward, March Chair
  • Trent Breitung, Communications Chair
  • Ananda Thomas, Fundraiser Chair
  • Dr. George A Williams, Scholarship Chair
  • Francine Prosser-Johnson, Public Awards Chair
  • Val Reiffert, Outreach Chair
  • Bishop Rosa Wilson, Pre March Worship Chair
  • Mia Morris, Commemorative Program Chair
  • Harold Moore, Wreath Laying Co Chair
  • Mary Fulton-Moore, Wreath Laying Co Chair
  • Norris "Tyrone" Darden, Youth Summit Chair