District 4 Councilwoman joins FCC Intergovernmental Advisory Committee

Published on March 12, 2024

Council District 4 Dr. Adriana Rocha Garcia  

SAN ANTONIO (March 12, 2024) – District 4 Councilwoman Dr. Adriana Rocha Garcia was selected as a new member of the Federal Communications Commission’s (FCC) Intergovernmental Advisory Committee (IAC). The District 4 Councilwoman is the only municipal representative from Texas who will form part of the 30-member IAC. 

The IAC is comprised of elected officials of municipal, county, state, and Tribal governments that will meet with Commission officials to exchange views, information, and advice on a range of telecommunications issues The IAC will operate for two years commencing on April 18, 2024.

“Serving on the FCC’s IAC will give me the opportunity to work with government leaders across the country championing reliable and high-quality connectivity for all of our neighborhoods. So all can rely on robust, secure, and dependable broadband infrastructure systems,” the Councilwoman said.

The committee may be tasked by the Chairwoman to produce specific deliverables that will further the Commission’s programs, mission, and objectives, which may include those related to increasing deployment and adoption of broadband services and any other tasks that may assist state, local, and Tribal government officials to better implement or describe the availability of Commission programs to their constituents and other members of the public.