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Trade shows, arts and crafts shows, antique
markets, gun shows and other types of markets,
shows, fairs and festivals (including flea markets
and swap meets) are considered temporary places
of business for Texas tax purposes. Depending
on the structure of the business, you may have
responsibility for both sales and use tax and
franchise tax. This publication provides basic
information on both taxes,

This means that sellers at these types of shows,
including sellers from outside Texas, are engaged
i yfor a Texas in business and they need a Texas Sales and Use
s and Use Tax Tax Permit if they:

t online at
e sell taxable items or taxable services; or

wivw,window.state.
® take orders for taxable items or taxable services;

txdis/taxpermit/,
or
¢ use the show to promote sales of taxable items or

taxable services.

A “seller” is a retailer, wholesaler, distributor,
manufacturer or other person who sells, leases, rents or transfers ownership of taxable
items or taxable services for consideration. See Rule 3.286 related to seller’s and purchaser’s

responsibilities.

Promoters of these events are considered sellers and must hold a Texas Sales and Use Tax
Permit. Promoters are also responsible for collecting and remitting the sales tax that should be
collected by dealers, salespersons or individuals at these events, unless those persons either hold
active Texas Sales and Use Tax Permits or qualify for the occasional sale exemption. See the

Fgr' more 'nfﬁrmat'on' Documentation Required for Certain Occasional Sales section, below.
visit our wehsite

www.window. staie bx.us. . -
Receive tax help at Applying for a Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit

https://www.window. Complete the Texas Online Tax Registration Application to get a sales tax permit. Applications
state.tx.us/taxhelp/. and information on what 1s needed to apply for a Texas sales tax permit are available on our
website at www.window.state.tx.us/taxpermit/. There is no fee for a permit. Please note that
operating without a permit can be costly; the Comptroller may assess daily penalties for
operating without a permit.
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A taxpayer who files
the report and pays
the tax on time is
allowed a timely
filing discount of
one-half of one
percent of the tax due.

For more information,
visit our website

www.window.state tx.us.

Receive tax help at
htips:/f'www.window,
state.tx.us/taxhelp/.

Use the seller’s home address or principal place of business address when applying for a sales
tax permit for a flea market, trade show or other temporary place of business.

Sales Tax Bond

Some persons, such as those with previous state tax delinquencies, must provide a bond

to ensure that tax collected is remitted to the Comptroller. The Comptroller’s office will
notify the permit applicant if a bond is required. The requirement can be met by a surety
bond; cash; a letter of assignment or a letter of credit from a bank, savings and loan or credit
union. If all taxes are paid promptly, the Comptroller’s office will return the bond

in two years.

Texas Tax Rates

The Texas state sales and use tax rate is 6.25 percent. Cities, counties, special purpose
districts and transit authorities may adopt local sales and use taxes of up fo 2 percent that
businesses collect along with the state sales or use tax. The total rate of tax collected cannot
exceed 8.25 percent on the sale of a taxable item or taxable service.

Collecting State and Local Sales and Use Taxes

A seller must collect sales or use tax on the total sales price of taxable items or taxable
services. The invoice must separately state the tax or clearly indicate the tax is included in
the sales price.

Vendors who sell at different events in different cities or counties must collect tax based on
the location of each event.

Tax rates are available on our website at
https:/{fourcpa.cpa.state.tx.us/atj/addresslookup.jsp.

For more information, see our Guidelines for Coliecting Local Sales and Use Tax at
www.window.state. tx.us/taxinfo/taxpubs/tx94_105.pdf.

Sales for Resale and Exempt Sales

A person who holds a sales tax permit can purchase items tax free that they will resell in the
regular course of business. The purchaser should issue a properly completed Texas Resale
Certificate (Form 01-339) to the seller. See Comptroller Rule 3.285(a)(2).

For more information, see Exempt Organizations — Sales and Purchases (Pub. 96-122) at
www.window.state.tx.us/taxinfo/taxpubs/tx96_122.pdf.

Reporting Sales and Use Tax
Persons holding a Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit must file a Texas Sales and Use Tax
Return even if no tax is due or no sales are made.

Depending on the amount of tax collected, a seller may file monthly, quarterly or yearly.
Returns and payments are due by the 20th day of the month following the report period. For
example, the return for the first quarter (January, February and March) is due April 20.
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Filing the return and paying the tax on time entitles the taxpayer to a timely filing discount
equal to one-half percent of the tax collected as compensation.

A $50 late filing penalty is assessed on every report filed after the due date. The $50 penalty
is due in addition to any other penalties assessed for the reporting period.

Companies can file online at www.window.state.tx.us/webfile/ or download paper returns
at www.window.state. bx.us/taxinfo/taxforms/01-forms.html#Sales,

Sellers from Outiside Texas Operating in Texas

Out-of-state sellers engaged in business here must have a sales and use tax permit. These
sellers are responsible for collecting Texas use tax on sales made in Texas for 12 months
after they are no longer engaged in business here. They must also collect and report all
applicable taxes for local Texas taxing jurisdictions. Twelve months after the company
is no longer engaged in business in Texas, the company can close its sales tax permit at
www.cpa.state.tx.us/accmaint/close.html.

Admissions, Booth Rentals and Parking Fees
Admission fees are subject to sales tax. The event promoter must collect sales tax on
admission fees.

Booth fees, floor space fees and rental charges for selling/display space, by whatever name,
are not subject to sales tax.

Parking fees are subject to sales tax. The entity operating the parking facility must collect
sales tax on parking fees. The amount of the sales tax must be separately stated on the
customer’s bill, or there must be a written statement to the customer that sales tax is
included in the sales price.

Antique or Craft Malls and Markets
For malls and markets where vendors rent space to sell, buy or trade their wares, the method
of sales tax collection depends on the type of check-out system.

Centralized cash register: If the market or mall has a centralized cash register or check-out,
both the market itself and the individual sellers must have sales tax permits. The market or
mall is responsible for collecting and remitting sales tax.

The market reports total sales, taxable sales and total tax collected for all vendors.

Vendors report the amount the market sells on their behalf only in the Total Sales field of
the sales and use tax return. For example, a vendor receives $400 from the market or mall
for sales for the month. The vendor would report the $400 as total sales, but would not
include the $400 in taxable sales.

No centralized cash register; If the market or mall does not have a centralized cash register
or check-out, both the market itself and the individual sellers must have sales tax permits
and are responsible for collecting and remitting sales tax on the sales they make.

For more information,
visit our website
www.window.state.tx.us.
Receive tax help at
hitps:/fwww.window.
state.tx_us/taxhelp/.
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The market’s promoter may be held liable for taxes on sales made by vendors without a
permit, so the promoter should ensure that each vendor has an active sales tax permit.

Vendors should report total sales, taxable sales and the tax collected. The market should
report total sales, taxable sales and the tax collected for any vendors operating without a
sales tax permit.

Occasional Sales

Some individuals selling personal items may qualify for the “occasional sale” exemption.
Individuals who make only occasional sales are not required to hold a sales tax permit or to
collect tax on their sales of qualifying items.

The occasional sale exemption does net apply to individuals who:

® have, or are required to have, a Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit (or a similar permit from
another state);

® are engaged in the business of making taxable sales (including artist or craftsmen who
fabricate items for sale); or

® buy or otherwise obtain {including barters or trades) goods from others to resell them.

A person engaged in the business of making taxable sales may not claim an occasional
sale exemption on the first two sales or on the first $3,000 worth of taxable items sold ina
calendar year.

Types of Occasional Saies

Use this chart to see if the occasional sale exemption applies:

If... and... then...

you have a sales tax permit | you sell taxable items sales tax is due {unless
another exemption applies
to the sale).

you, as an individual or a you make two or fewer sales per « the $3,000limit does

business, do not have, and calendar year (regardless of the dol- not apply and

are not required to have, a lar amount of the sales)

« you are not required to

sales tax permit collect sales tax.

you are an individual who « vou sell taxable items during a you are not required to
does not have, and is not calendar year that were original- | collect sales tax.
required to have, a sales tax Iy bought for your personal use

For more information, permit (or for use by a member of your

visit our website family) and

www.window.state.tx.us. » the total amount of money re-

Receive tax help at ceived for those sales (no matter

how many sales) does not exceed

https:/fwww.window.
b $3,000 during that calendar year

state.tx.us/taxhelp/.
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Occasional $ale Exemption 1: Tax Code Section 151.304(b)(1) allows an individual who
does not have, or is not required to have, a Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit (or a similar
permit from another state) to sell one or two taxable items or taxable services (other than an
amusement service) during any 12-month calendar year, regardless of the price of

the items.

This exemption only applies to sales made by individuals, businesses and others who do not
regularly sell taxable items {such as businesses who ordinarily sell nontaxable services).

Under this provision, the sales price of the items does not matter. For example, an individual
can sell a piano for $4,000 and a bicycle for $200 at a garage sale in the same calendar year, If
they later decide to sell their used lawnmower before the end of that calendar year, they are
required to obtain a sales tax permit and collect sales tax because that would be a third sale.

Occasional Sale Exemption 2: Tax Code Section 151.304(b)(5) allows an individual who
does not have, or is not required to have, a Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit {or a similar
permit from another state) to have sales of up to $3,000 in a calendar year of items that were
originally acquired for personal use by the person or a family member of the person selling
them. Under this provision, an individual can make as many sales as they like, as long as the
items being sold were originally acquired for their personal use or their family’s personal
use, and they do not make more than $3,000 on those sales during a calendar year.

For example, an individual may sell housewares at a garage sale in May and earn $1,000.

In August they sell their used bicycle to a neighbor for $200. In December, they purchase
admission to a gun show and sell a firearm to a vendor there for $500. Those sales are more
than two transactions in a calendar year, so the exemption provided by Section 151.304{b)(1)
does not apply, but since the total amount earned from the sales was less than $3,000 and all
the items sold were originally purchased for the seller’s or seller’s family’s personal use, the
exemption provided by Section 151.304(b)(3 ) applies instead.

If an individual continues to sell taxable items after the $3,000 limit is reached and has made
more than two sales, they are considered engaged in business, and required to obtain a sales
tax permit and must collect tax on all subsequent sales of taxable items, beginning with the
first sale after the $3,000 limit is reached.

This type of occasional sale exemption applies only to individuals. It does not apply to
similar sales made by groups or organizations, such as student or church groups that collect
items to sell at a garage-sale type event. Neither does the occasional sale exemption apply

to “community-wide” type events that are coordinated or produced by a third party if the For more information,
seller is required to pay a fee or commission in order to participate in the event (i.e., booth visit our websile
or space rental fees). In these situations, sales tax is required to be collected unless other www.window.state.tx.us.

Receive tax help at

exemptions apply.
https:/fwww.window.

state.tx.us/taxhelp/.
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For more information,
visit our website

www.window.state.tr.us.

Receive tax help at
https:/fwww.window.
state.tx.us/taxhelp/.

Documentation Required for Certain Occasional Sales

Sellers who qualify for the $3,000 sales limit occasional sales tax exemption must give a
letter to the promoter of the event with identifying information about the seller, including
name, address, phone number and driver license.

The letter must specifically state the seller:

® is an individual selling their own previously taxed personal (used) property;

® is an individual who is not engaged in the business of selling taxable items; and

® has not earned more than $3,000 from selling personal goods so far during the
Calendar year.

Without this letter, the Comptroller’s office will be unable to verify whether the seller was
eligible to make tax-free occasional sales.

As with all exemptions, the seller is required to maintain records to document that the
exemption applies.

Franchise Tax Responsibility
Entities engaged in business in Texas are subject to the state franchise tax. Limited
exceptions to this rule include sole proprietorships.

A non-Texas entity may qualify for a franchise tax exemption if:

® its only activity in Texas is soliciting orders at trade shows;
e the entity makes no more than five visits to Texas during its accounting year; and
® cach visit is not more than 120 consecutive hours.

Companies can establish the exemption with the Comptroller’s office by completing a Texas
Nexus Questionnaire (Form AP-114). The company must notify the Comptroller in writing
when it no longer qualifies for the exemption.

For more information about the tax, see the Franchise Tax Overview at
www.window.state.tx.us/taxinfo/taxpubs/tx98_806.html. For more information about the
exemption, see Texas Tax Code Section 171.084 and Franchise Tax Rule 3.583.

Helpful Links and More Information
Apply for a sales tax permit at www.cpa.state.tx.us/taxpermit/.

Sales tax returns (Forms 01-114 and 01-116) are available at
www.cpa.state.tx.us/taxinfo/taxforms/¢1-forms.htmi#Sales.

File a sales tax return and report sales and remit sales tax colected at
www.window.state.tx.us/taxinfo/sales/webfile_sales.htmi.

Make account changes (address changes, close a sales tax permit) at
www.window.state.tx.us/taxinfo/sales.




Links to the Texas Tax Code and Comptroller rules are on our website at
www.window.state.tx.us/taxes/.
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® Tax Code Section 171.084 Franchise Tax Exemption for Trade Show Participants
® Rule 3.285 Resale Certificate; Sales for Resale
® Rule 3.286 Seller’s and Purchaser’s Responsibilities, including Nexus, Permits, Returns and

Reporting Periods, Collection and Exemption Rules, and Criminal Penalties
® Rule 3.583 Margin: Exemptions

Publications

® Guidelines for Collecting Local Sales and Use Tax at
www.window.state.tx.us/taxinfo/taxpubs/tx94_105.pdf

@ Exempt Organizations - Sales and Purchases at

www.window.state.tx.us/taxinfo/taxpubs/tx96_122.pdf

Disclaimer

This publication is intended as a general guide and not as a comprehensive resource on the

subjects covered, Itis not a substitute for legal advice.

" We're Here To Help! Call Toll-Free!

if you have questions or need information on a specific tax, nlease call our toll-free numbers:

1-800-252-5555 - . .

911 Emergency Service/Equalization
Surcharge

Autemaotive 0il Fee

BatteryFee - -

Boat and Boat Motor Sales Tax

Customs Broker

Fireworks Tax

Mixed Beverage Tax

Ofi-Road, Heavy-Duty Diesel
Equipment Surcharge

QOyster Fee .~ -

Sates and Use Taxes

Telecommunications Infrastructure
Furd

1-800-531-5441
| Cement Tax
[nheritance Tax
Local Revenue
Miscellanesus Gross Receipts Taxes
0il Well Serviging Tax
Sulphur Tax

| 1-800-531-5441, ext. 3-3630
WebFile Help

[ 1-800-252-1381
| Bank Franchise
Franchise Tax

. 1-B00-252-7875

Spanish

1-800-531-1441
Fax on Demand {Most frequently
requested Sales and Franchise
tax forms)

1-860-252-1382
Clean Vehicle Incentive Program
Manufactured Housing Tax
Motor Vehicie Sales Surcharge,
Rental and Seller-Financed Sales
Tax
Mator Vehicle Registration Surcharge

1-800-252-1383
Fuels Tax
[FTA
G Decals
Petroleum Products Delivery Fee
Scheal Fund Benefit Fee

1-860-252-1384
Coastal Protection
Crude 0il Production Tax
Natural Gas Production Tax

1-800-252-1387
insurance Tax

' 1-800-252-1385

Coin Operated Machine Tax
Hotet Occupancy Tax

1-808-252-1386
Certificates of Account Status/Good
Standing
Officer and Director lnformation

1-800-862-2260
Cigarette and Tobacco

1-888-4-FILING (1-888-434-54564)
TELEFHLE: To File by Phone

1-808-252-1359
GETPUB: To Order Forms and
Publications

1-808-654-FIND {1-800-654-3463)
Treasury Find

1-800-321-2274
Unclaimed Property Claimants
Unclaimed Property Holders
Unclaimed Property Name Searches
512-463-3120 in Austin

1-877-44RATES (1-877-447-2834)
Interest Rate
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For mare information, visit our wehsite
www window.state.x.us

Receive tax help at
hitps://www.window.state tx.us/taxhelp/

Sign up to receive email updates on the Comptroller topics
of yeur choice at www.window. state. bLus/subseribe.

The Texzs Comptroler of Public Accourts 35 an equal opportunity

| employer and does not discriminate on the basis of race, color,

religion, sex, national origin, age or disability in employment or
in the provision of any services, programs or activities.

Ir compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act, this

" document may be requested in alternative formats by calling
| the appropriate toli-free number listed at left, or by calling:

512-453-4600 in Austin
512-475-0900 (FAX).







