

# SAN ANTONIO POLICE DEPARTMENT GENERAL MANUAL



# **Procedure 920 – College Tuition Reimbursement**

Office with Primary Responsibility:	SSO	Effective Date: Prior Revision Date:	July 31, 2010 October 01, 2009
Office(s) with Secondary Responsibilities:	PSC, PNC, TSC, FTC, IDC	Number of Pages:	2
Forms Referenced in Procedure:	None	Related Procedures:	None

## .01 INTRODUCTION

- A. This procedure establishes guidelines for the reimbursement of costs (tuition, fees, on-campus parking, and required textbooks) for courses taken by officers from an accredited college or university.
- B. Non sworn members apply for tuition reimbursement in accordance with City Administrative Directive 4.77, *Tuition Assistance Program*.

## .02 TERMINOLOGY (For specific use within this procedure, see Glossary)

Accredited College or University Fees Tuition

# .03 REIMBURSEMENT ELIGIBILITY

Officers are entitled to receive reimbursement for the cost of tuition, fees, on-campus parking and the price of required textbooks at a college or university for the course hours in an accredited degree program irrespective of the other sources of aid or funding. Reimbursements shall be made in accordance with the following schedule:

Course Grade	Reimbursement
Α	100%
В	90%
С	80%
D or F	0%

## .04 DOCUMENTS REQUIRED FOR REIMBURSEMENT

- A. A copy of a certified degree plan (determined by the officer);
- B. An official transcript (listing the officer's current address and any name changes);
- C. An itemized statement of charges (tuition & fees) listing the officer's current address and any name changes; and
- D. Receipts for textbook purchases (indicating course next to book on receipt), written reports, canceled checks, or copies of front covers of the books are not accepted as proof of purchase.

#### .05 REIMBURSEMENT PROCESS

- A. The documents required for reimbursement must be submitted within sixty (60) calendar days of course completion.
- B. Reimbursement for tuition and fees will not exceed the amounts set by Texas state-supported colleges or universities and is paid at Texas Residency Rates. The current University of Texas at San Antonio catalogue is used as the standard for determining appropriate tuition and fees for non state-supported colleges or universities.



# SAN ANTONIO POLICE DEPARTMENT GENERAL MANUAL



**Procedure 920 – College Tuition Reimbursement** 

C. Percentage of reimbursement for cost of tuition and fees is based on the average of course grades:

Example:	<u>COURSE</u>	GRADE %	6 To Be Reimbursed
-	Criminal Invest.	А	100%
	English	В	90%
	Psychology	С	80%
		Total Percentage	270% ÷ 3 = <b>90%</b>
		Tuition Cost Fees Charged	\$ 160.00 \$ 40.00
		Total Cost	\$ 200.00 x 90% = \$180.00 (Total Reimbursement)

- D. Percentage of reimbursement for the cost of textbooks is based on the actual course grade.
- E. Sales tax charged for the purchase of textbooks is not reimbursed. When purchasing required textbooks, use the City tax number (1-74-60020-70-8) to avoid being charged the sales tax.
- F. Reimbursement for cost of textbooks is only for those books required by the course instructor. Cost of supplies, study guides, reference materials, or books not specifically required by the instructor are not reimbursed.
- G. The reimbursement process takes a minimum of fifteen (15) working days to complete. The reimbursement will be included in the officer's payroll check.
- H. Reimbursement for cost of tuition, fees, and textbooks for correspondence/internet courses is made only under the following conditions:
  - 1. If the course is from an accredited college or university;
  - 2. Completed course hours appear on an official transcript; and
  - 3. Course hours are towards an accredited degree.
- I. Officers who are enrolled in an accredited college or university and who under an approved college or university master's or doctorate degree plan are required to complete any course that is not assigned a grade, will upon successful completion of this course be reimbursed by the City at 100% upon presentation of documentation of payment to the registrars office of the college or university at the end of the semester of the required course.

## .06 DEGREE COMPLETION

- A. Officers receiving an Associate's, Bachelor's, Master's, Doctoral Degree or who have completed sixty-five (65) or more college hours from an accredited college or university must contact the Police Training Academy to apply for educational incentive pay.
- B. Officers must submit documented proof of an Associate's, Bachelor's, Master's, Doctoral Degree, or sixty-five (65) or more college hours completion via an official transcript or diploma within sixty (60) calendar days of completion.
- C. The date an officer will start receiving educational incentive pay will be:
  - 1. From the date on the diploma issued for a degree (date submitted, if after sixty (60) days of completion);
  - 2. From the date of the transcript submission, reflecting sixty-five (65) or more college credit hours.